Mindful Break: Meet My Son (15 days old)

21ff76a3-6a13-4709-8450-9697c271c34bOn November 23 at 1:47am, my son Remo Romanelli was born.

As many of you have witnessed before, to see that little human being suddenly appear in the delivery room, all I could think was:

“I CAN’T BELIEVE IT!”

Over the past 12 days, I have spent hours staring at his little toes and fingers and ears and lips that formed on their own in the womb and I thought,

“I CAN’T BELIEVE IT!”

Last night, he lay on my lap and we watched SportCenter together and he lifted his tiny head to stare at me, I thought,

“I CAN’T BELIEVE IT!”

And then, after the 12th consecutive sleepless night, as my wife and I lay awake shaking our heads at the ungodly hour of 3am, I thought to myself,

“I CAN BELIEVE IT!”

After doing my best to be supportive of my wife’s 24 hours of labor, I took a taxi home at 5am Sunday morning. It was both the most exhilarated and exhausted I’d ever been… all at once!

I told the taxi driver all about the night and how proud I was of my 6 lb 12 oz bundle of love… AND my wife for laboring for 24 hours!

And the taxi driver, parent of 3, said, “Get ready to be exhausted. You are not going to have anytime to yourself. Kids get sick. They are going to whine. They are going to take everything you have and ask for more.”

And I was thinking to myself, “Geeeez, I’m riding home with the Grinch.”

But then, the taxi driver said, “But you are going to have so much love in your life and it’s all worth it!”

Whether or not you have kids, you know that life is most raw, most awesome, and most wonderful when you are teetering at the edge of ENERGY AND EXHAUSTION, SUCCESS AND FAILURE, HOPE AND DESPAIR.

But you can’t stop digging in and stirring. Because as the taxi driver said, love is what comes from all those emotions.

You need every single one of your losses and failures, wins and triumphs, bad days and bad moods, great days and great moods… to create the alchemy of love.

One thought on “Mindful Break: Meet My Son (15 days old)

  1. Can feel from you my own , first Baby experiences . My first delivery was just abt a near death shock. No details needed it’s suffice to say my boy and I were lucky to survive . I could’n see him rt away ; he went to NICU for 15 days. Along with shock and overwhelming joy that he survived a drunken OB’S delivery it was twice times a miracle. Firstly when
    you hold their little hands and see the beautiful uniqueness of their face & their very own features , certainly not a direct cc of either parent.
    Then I relived his near death ,shaking over & over between profound miracles that both of us were bonding with a new life and one that was forever changed in greatness , like nothing else could or would compare.
    Two more sons each brought the same but different profoundness to my life. I share this after reading abt your experience as a father as even though I shared it with my husband , he wrote none of it down and your account puts me in the present which really enriches as it’s current and a father’s words.

Leave a Reply

