Happier Challenge: Little Daily Gratitudes

happier-challenge-keep-calm-110314Good morning! There’s no denying it, the way you might’ve over the weekend; it’s officially November. Here in the United States, that means we’re leading up to Thanksgiving, and also that various gratitude challenges are flying fast and furious on social media this month. Of course, we believe in year-round gratitude, because it’ll make you happier no matter what the calendar says, but November seems like a particularly good time to get your gratitude on if you need some help. We’ll start slow, I promise. Ready for this week’s challenge? It’s easy. Here you go:

This week, start every day with a quick acknowledgement of something you experience every single day that you’re grateful to have in your life.

(Note: That means you’ll be thinking of ordinary, unremarkable things, most likely… and that’s the point. I started this morning grateful for the cold, wet nose that appears at my bedside every morning, even though it demands that I get out of my warm bed, and once the kibble appears I’m forgotten. That’s okay.)

Need some more to get you going? I’ve got you covered:

  • Robert Emmons is the world’s leading gratitude researcher, and his piece on why gratitude is good for us is the perfect summary.
  • If you only have 10 seconds and need a video about gratitude that will make you laugh, go ahead and watch this professional squirrel translator. Really.
  • If you have more time—say, 7 minutes or so—watch this Experiment in Gratitude by SoulPancake. (Make sure you have enough time to fix your makeup after, though, because it might make you a little teary.)

Ready to gear up for a more grateful month (and life)? We can’t wait to hear how this goes for you… be sure to come report back here or in the Happier community!

5 thoughts on “Happier Challenge: Little Daily Gratitudes

  1. I am having trouble with the app crashing. I have iPad mini. I look at happier through the app. For the past week or so it keeps crashing on me as soon as I open it or when I am writing. I always have to get back in and rewrite what I am saying. Sometimes three to four times in a row. This morning I can’t even get in because it crashes as soon as I open it. If you can help, please let me know. Thanks. Tracy Paeth Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Hi there! I just subscribed to your blog. I’m loving what you are doing here and I also do a happy blog! It’s moodmagnitude.com if you want to check it out, I think you will like some of my posts as it appears we have similar passions. Keep it up!

  3. Pingback: Ten Posts About Being Happiness | Love Bullet Points

Leave a Reply

