Need a new mantra? Try: “Life is Short. Collect Experiences.”

If there’s one mantra I live by, it’s this one:

LIFE IS SHORT. COLLECT EXPERIENCES.

Life moves fast. There’s so much going on each day that it’s easy for moments to just blend into each other, one after the other after the other. Sometimes I feel like I live in a perpetual state of hurry, without time to breathe and savor small perfect moments hidden in every day life.

miaI say my mantra to myself to remind me to focus on what’s important — experiencing as much as possible, in every small and huge way. An experience could be playing a game with my daughter before bed or it could be something more special, like visiting a new place. But to collect it you have to be present in it or it will rush right by.

What experiences will you collect today?

2 thoughts on “Need a new mantra? Try: “Life is Short. Collect Experiences.”

  1. Reblogged this on MH Comments and commented:
    Experiences are the new possessions! No one can take an experience away from you, whereas positions can be taken away. Nataly, and Happier (check it out!) are wonderfully positive even on days when it’s hard to be upbeat. For me, Happier has made a significant difference, a positive difference. Life really is short, so make the most of it!

  2. Being present is definitely the key. A lot of people spend so much time stuck in the past or worrying about the future that they miss the opportunities for happiness in the moment. Through my own personal development I have realised that I used to keep waiting for some future event some milestone in my life to happen to me rather than making things happen in the now. It’s not how much time we have it’s what we do with the time we have left. So you are definitely right: experience all you can and appreciate all you experience.

Leave a Reply

