Happier works… even if you’re not already happy

Today’s user story really strikes a chord with me, because I, too, am the sort of person who is given to feeling like the glass isn’t half empty so much as it’s smashed on the floor and unusable. A lot of people make comments to me about how something like Happier “isn’t for me” and that’s when I want to jump up and down and say, “That’s why it’s exactly for you,” because even those of us who have more in common with Eeyore than Pollyanna can find it changing our lives.

Enough about me. Check out what Amy had to say:

Dear, dear, dear, dear, dear Team Happier…

I have been meaning to write to all of you for a while, now, to tell you of the effect that Happier has had on me and my life.

I saw the Happier App in December of 2013… it intrigued me, so I downloaded it. I took a perfunctory look around… wasn’t sure what to do with it, so I left it alone.

At about the same time, I started to see a therapist to help me learn how to cope better with some of the problems I have had to face. I know that everyone has their own special and unique set of challenges and issues, but some of the ones I have had to face… well, without going into specifics, let’s just say that they are particularly painful, unusual and of an ongoing in-your-face nature… and I defy anyone to face them with a perpetual smile on their face.

One of the things that I realized myself, though, was that attitude has almost everything to do with how well a person copes with anything that they are facing… and, simply put… my issues were not going to disappear, so I knew that what I needed was an attitude adjustment.

My therapist has been absolutely incredible in helping me with this. After a couple of weeks of getting to know each other, one of the first things that she suggested I do was to start a gratitude journal as a way to help see more positive things in my life. My assignment was to write down 3 things each day that I was thankful for (with the stipulation that there were to be NO repeats!). Some days were pretty bad and I had to get seriously creative in order to complete this task (I remember one day being thankful for indoor plumbing because I honestly could not think of anything else for which I could be grateful).

In any case… one problem I constantly ran into was that I would forget to write things down in my journal… and I would then beat myself up for not being consistent. Well… one day I remembered this cute little app I downloaded called Happier. Perhaps I could use THAT during the course of my day to keep track of a gratitude moment before it passed me by and I could then be more consistent.
Well… since then, I have not only been consistent, most days now are filled with many, MANY grateful/happy moments!

Now, I am not saying that my problems have gone away… or, that I deal with them perfectly… but I DO credit Happier and the Happier community with helping me to have a brighter outlook… a more positive attitude… a happier frame of mind. I now actively look for AND NOTICE any little thing that makes me smile or laugh, gives me a sense of peace, a feeling of accomplishment a sense of gratitude. And… I have also begun to look for things to share that may not necessarily be what I need… but may be just what someone else in my circle of Happyites needs. And…in seeing the Happier moments of others, I am reminded at times at some of the things that I have taken for granted… things that I SHOULD be happy and grateful for!

I apologize for the length of this message, but I really want to convey my heartfelt gratitude to all of you who have made this little slice of heaven possible. It has (without meaning to over-dramatize) changed my perspective… and hence… my life. Just writing this email… my heart is so full… I cannot thank you enough.

Please make sure that everyone connected to Team Happier knows that among the many many people who are thankful for all of you… one of them is pretty sure you may have saved her life.

Lots of love to each and every one of you…
Amy

Wow, Amy. You are awesome! Thank you so much for letting us know how much Happier has meant to you. I hope your story will inspire others to give the app a whirl (I don’t see how it couldn’t).

(Do you have a story to share about how Happier has affected your life? We want to hear it! Write to us at team@happier.com.)

One thought on “Happier works… even if you’re not already happy

  1. Pingback: Emotion is key #8 to happier living

Leave a Reply

