I spent a day browsing happy moments and here is what I learned about how to be happier

Yesterday was our first Happier Hack Day. It was freaking awesome.

A hack day is when we stop our regular work for 24 hours and each work on a project we are insanely passionate about but maybe can’t fit into our regular schedule at Happier. Everyone gets to choose what they work on and the idea is that some of these projects may become features we actually build for all of our awesome Happiers.

Over the next few days the team will be sharing their projects with all of you here. Get ready to be really excited πŸ™‚

Here’s mine:

I decided to spend the day browsing thousands of happy moments in Happier to see what I could learn about what makes you happier. Sure, there is a ton of science on what makes us happier (and Happier was inspired by a lot of it), but I wanted to put that aside and have you, our awesome Happier community, teach me.

Wow, guys, just wow. I could spend this entire blog post telling you how inspiring, amazing, touching, honest, fun, awesome all of your moments are but you already know that (or you should). I literally spent the day in half-tears, no joke. I think I went through about 1,500 moments total and I put together this little presentation on these moments teach us about being happier. It’s just a start that we wanted to share with all of you. We’re going to be working on a book of ‘100 Simple Things You Can Do to Be Happier”, all told through the happy moments shared on Happier. And many more ideas are brewing.

But without further ado, here is my Happier Hack Day project: 10 simple ways to be happier.

6 thoughts on “I spent a day browsing happy moments and here is what I learned about how to be happier

  1. Pingback: A Happier Hack Day Community Hack | Happier

  2. Pingback: Happier Hack Day Part 4: a secret revealed | Happier

  3. I just joined in February and I am already so in love with your app and website! Today I discovered your blog here where coincidentally I also blog, so I had to follow for more happier stuff! What your company is doing has already impacted my life in such a positive way. Stopping to recognize the small things in my daily life that make me happy is the best thing I’ve experienced in a long time. Thank you all so much for the inspiration to be happier! I am looking forward to many more HAPPIER days ahead of me!

Leave a Reply

