What makes you happier, Rachel?

Our first introduction to Rachel and her extraordinary levels of awesome, was when we saw the epic photo that she created to celebrate her 100th happy moment. We absolutely had to get to know her. So we did what any super fan would do. We used our Happier super powers to find her contact info and we emailed her. And we loved her so much that then we called her. We think you’ll love her too.

What makes you happier, Rachel?
Traveling makes me super happy because I love exploring new places and capturing moments amid different landscapes. Blogging and writing love letters are other happy pastimes helping me record memories that my children will hopefully read and appreciate one day.  Watching my children play/draw/dance/laugh is always a daily dose of happiness. Memories of Caesar (my late golden retriever) flood me with happiness, and I hope to create new ones with another tiny pup by the end of the year. My home, nestled in a quiet part of a Midwest metropolis, creates happiness because it’s my sanctuary. It’s also a great gathering place for a bonfire or summer party…complete with me dancing to 80s music, if so desired!

Screen Shot 2013-06-27 at 1.52.02 PM

Describe your perfect happy day.
My perfect happy day would include my family and I waking up in a European destination with sunlight spilling through the window. After breakfast, we’d take a walk through the city center and local shops.  We’d collect groceries along the way to have a picnic in a cemetery. (Yes, some cemeteries I’ve visited are truly beautiful and {gasp} romantic.) For the afternoon, we’d go for a hike and take pictures of us doing cartwheels midway through the trek. We’d dine al fresco for dinner and top it off with beer for the mister, wine for me and ice cream for the kids. Our evening would be topped off by lazing on a balcony under a blanket and watching the sunset welcome a starry sky. (A girl can dream, right?)

What’s your go-to when you need a boost of happiness?
Music is my go-to without a doubt! Not a day goes by when I don’t listen to music. My phone is full of playlists like: Bop (for those extra long runs that need extra peppy tunes); Chill (for times when I like a soothing background ambiance); Newbies (for discovering new music that won’t get lost in my thousands of songs); and Zen (for centering myself with prayer time, which often happens in my car.)
To me, music is like this quote:
“Words make you think a thought. Music makes you feel a feeling.  A song makes you feel a thought.” – E.Y. Harburg

RachelS_HappierWhat’s the last thing you smiled about?
I smiled while looking at old photos. I found myself lingering on pictures of my family’s Hawaiian adventure this past February. With each picture I clicked, I smiled remembering the story behind every snapshot. Photography is a happy outlet for me, whether it is my own or a friend’s or a total stranger. Besides the wonderful moments written on Happier, I’m delighted that ‘Happiers’ can share pictures with one another, too.

If you could high five anyone, past or present, who would it be and why?
My high-five (or perhaps, more appropriately, my curtsey) would go to the late Princess Diana. I’ve even blogged about her!  Her humanitarianism and charitable persona were quite inspirational to my young, impressionable self.  I would’ve been tickled to chat with Lady Di about her daily life, what she wanted most for her two young boys, and what inspired her. Oh, and I would’ve inquired whether she ever had braces because her smile was impeccable! 🙂

What do you dig about Happier?
Happier is, well…how do I put it? Okay, it’s AWESOME! I’m so glad I found this application because it is an uplifting, mood enhancing, little slice of heaven. It would be hard to not smile after viewing the countless joyful moments that people share. This community is lovely, and I’d go so far as to say that other social media sites better watch out ‘cause happiness is contagious! Keep up the great work, Happier team!

4 thoughts on “What makes you happier, Rachel?

  1. UNFORTUNATELY I HAVE TO LEAVE BUT I WILL BE READING THIS BLOG AS SOON AS I RETURN. I LOVE BLOGS AND I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN ONLY THE HAPPIER WOULD, TOO. BLESS YOU ALL. DR. JACQUE

    P.S. Kimberley, I need to talk to you about Facebook. Hope everyone understands that I just cannot be on it. Can I still communicate otherwise?

  2. Oh yes, I am happy because I am here. Happiness or striving for happiness is such a healthy, healthy thing and people who want to get there, will be as one.

Leave a Reply

