What makes you happier, Aliza Sherman?

series_whatmakesyouhappierToday we talk with Aliza Sherman, a web pioneer, founder of Cybergrrl, the first woman-owned Internet company and Webgrrls International, the first global women’s Internet networking organization as well as creator of Travelgirl, inspiring women through technology and travel. Aliza is also the co-author of the upcoming “Social Media Engagement for Dummies”. You can follower her on Twitter @alizasherman.

alizasherman

What makes you happier, Aliza?
Being true to myself and making a difference in other people’s lives and in the world.

Have you realized something about being happier that maybe you didn’t when, well, you were younger?
I think I spent my 20s and 30s trying to please everyone else, be what others wanted me to be or thought I was. In my 40s, I’ve started to return to my core, and although struggling, try to block out the outer and inner naysayers. When I hit my core, the “real me,” the reverberation is pure joy.

What’s the one thing you can always count on to give you a quick happy boost?
My little girl’s smile and laughter. She is 6 years old and I taught her how to text me when I’m away on business. She texts me adorable messages and photos of herself. Her smile transports me to happy, even when she isn’t near me.

What’s the last thing you smiled about?
My family singing together. I’m a sucker for Karaoke, and we were playing Wii Karaoke Revolution Glee. It makes my heart sing to hear my daughter and my husband singing. I immediately went onto Amazon and ordered several more Karaoke games for the Wii so we can do more of it together.

What do you dig about using Happier?
We all hear about the importance of affirmations or taking time for gratitude. Happier helps you be mindful of those happy moments, nudges you to pause and reflect on the positive things in your life. Happier has a sweet simplicity and yet has the power to help you celebrate joy day to day. What could be better in an app?

Download Happier for your iPhone and start collecting the happy moments in your life!

Leave a Reply

